Mrs Alexandra Conrads

Contact Alexandra

Hi,
My name is Alexandra. I am from Germany and am a qualified Language teacher here in the UK. Moreover, I am currently working as a Sociology teacher in Leeds. I always enjoyed learning and teaching languages (German, French, Spanish) in Germany but also in the UK. Due to having taught German in various contexts, I have access to a wide range of resources, which I always use in tutoring sessions to support fast progress and for thorough consolidation. Being a native-speaker living abroad, I feel that I can deeply empathise with the struggles many of my students have faced when learning a new language. Based on my experience and feedback from former students, I feel my biggest strengths in tutoring are to be encouraging and positive, celebrating successes and putting learning content into a real-life context.

Tutoring experience

I am a secondary school teacher, qualified as a Modern Foreign Language teacher (German and French). During my teacher training, I worked in an inner-city school in Bradford and in a school in the outskirts of Bradford. Therefore, I had the opportunity to gain a range of experience in teaching in different environments. I am currently working part-time as a Sociology teacher at a secondary school in Leeds, which means that I am very up-to-date regarding trends and policies in education and exam-board requirements.
I have worked as a language tutor for three years next to my studies. I primarily taught students aged 6-17 in German, English and French. Also, I led a German language course for one semester for students at Bradford University next to my studies in the UK. Moreover, I supported a group of A-Level students in a secondary school in Bradford to prepare them for their oral-exams. All students managed to get an A, one even an A* in their final exams.

Approach to tutoring

I believe that tutoring needs to be closely tied to my students' individual needs. In the first sessions, I will spend time carefully analysing the strengths and weaknesses of my students. Therefore, it is important for me to build up a good relationship to quickly identify which strategies might be most effective to use for this individual student. After that, I will design a scheme of work specifically targeting the most urgent areas which need to be addressed. Thereby, I always ensure that I plan in enough time for consolidation and setting homework (if wished). This way, it is easy to celebrate step-by-step success stories and, and you can already see significant improvement and confidence in using the language after a couple of sessions.

Qualifications

YearCourseGradeInstitution
2018PGCE -MFL GermanMeritLeeds Trinity University
2017MA Conflict ResolutionMeritBradford University
2016BA Social ScienceMeritUniversity of Cologne

Availability:Weekdays (daytime and evening) / Weekends
Tuition location:Tutor's home / Your home (up to 2 miles away)
References:Y
DBS (CRB) check:Y